top of page
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • davidahallnum5

10 3D Movies That Should've Gotten a Home Video Release


It seems like nowadays for every 3D movie created, there's a 3D Blu-ray for it, whether you can find it easily off Amazon like Avatar or you have to search for it off of Ebay like Beowulf. However, even with as many 3D Blu-rays available as there are, there are some 3D movies and related pieces of 3D media that have never seen a home media release that I, and I'm pretty sure lots of other people, would very much like to see. Some of these picks are theatrical films and others are theme park rides. But anyway, without further ado, here are 10 3D movies that should be brought to home media (Editor's Note: This was originally going to be a top 5 list. But after plenty of recent discoveries it swelled into a top 10 list).



#10: No Time to Die 3D


There's a lot to say about the latest entry to the Bond series: No Time to Die. But one thing that doesn't get brought up that much is how this film marks the first time Bond has entered the third dimension. But unless you caught it at the cinemas, you're probably out of luck if you want to see it in 3D. I sadly didn't. And if Cinemablend's To 3D or Not article is anything to go by, this was a very nice 3D experience indeed. It's a shame I, and probably plenty of others, missed out on it. But maybe, if it gets enough support, we can see it come home on 3D Blu-ray.



#9: Encanto 3D


It seems like with all the remakes, prequels, and sequels Disney is churning out that originality is a turning into a thing of past at the House of Mouse. Luckily, we got Encanto, a movie that a fun animated Disney movie in every sense of the phrase. It's beautiful-looking, the songs are catchy, the story is engaging, and the characters are likable. I could go on explaining why I like this film, but there's just one thing I hate about it: the fact that it only got a 3D release in the theaters and never on 3D Blu-ray. And with as much color, fluidity, and imagination this movie displays on a visual level, this film seems perfectly built for 3D. If anything, I wish Japan picked up on this film and released it in all its 3D glory. For once, there'd be a movie I'd pay $70 for.



#8: Free Guy 3D


Free Guy is another fun and original movie from the House of Mouse as of late. And this one, I actually did have the pleasure of seeing in 3D upon its release. This movie was a boatload of fun in the third dimension with everything from the wide cityscapes to the constant amount of GPA style action to gun barrels sticking out. I'd totally see it again in 3D. But unfortunately, it's nothing you can take home with you. Once again, I'd like if Japan, with all their 3D Disney movies, can get ahold of this film, or maybe even RSM, and put it out on 3D Blu-ray. Until then, though, I'll just have to be satisfied with the fact that I saw it in 3D at all, which is certainly better than not.



#7: Jaws (1975) 3D


This is one of the reasons I've had to expand my original list of films from 5 to 10. I've seen this movie in 3D two weeks ago and you can view my review for it here. It's not playing in my area anymore. But if you're interested, I think you can still catch it at a few select theaters. But this one, just like the other movies, has no plans on getting a 3D Blu-ray release. And that's a real shame because this is probably one of the finest 3D conversions I've seen in quite a while. And it comes with the extra bonus for being applied on of my all-time favorite films. Just like Jurassic Park, this movie needs to be seen in 3D. Unfortunately, you're going to need to see it while it's still out or you're out of luck. Once again, though, there is the chance RSM might pick up on it and give it the home media release it deserves. But for now, we'll just have to wait and see if that'll be the case.



#6: Mission: Impossible - Fallout 3D


Up until I was putting together this list, I had almost forgotten how fantastic Mission: Impossible - Fallout was. I could do an in-depth review on why this is my favorite film out of the Mission: Impossible franchise, but I only do that for movies I'm doing a 3D review on. And sadly, I don't see one coming for this anytime soon. Just like No Time to Die, this film is the first time this franchise has gotten a 3D movie. And also just like No Time to Die, they've chickened out on giving this film a 3D Blu-ray release. Unlike No Time to Die, though, the reason this film is so high up the list, and over Jaws, is because of how Cinemablend in their To 3D or Not article gave this movie the rare 35/35 perfect score. So although I haven't seen the film in 3D, I can imagine it looking awesome. I just wish there was an attempt to give it a physical home media release.



#5: Honey, I Shrunk the Audience 3D (or 4D, depending on how you look at it)


The one probably doesn't count as a "movie" as it's actually a 4D theme park attraction at Disneyland. Well, it used to be. But none the less, I'd very much like to see the 3D video portion of the ride get transferred over to home video. Will it be as fun without the 4D effects such as the room moving around or the dog sneezing in your face? No, clearly not. But if Shrek 4D got a physical home media release on a 3D DVD (though I'd like to see that one get transferred to 3D Blu-ray, but more on that in another review), they can probably do it for Honey, I Shrunk the Audience. This film doesn't even have a home media release in any format. The closest we have to seeing what the film portion of the ride looked like is through VHS footage on YouTube. But if this film ever got released on 3D Blu-ray (or 3D DVD, anything as long as the 3D aspect of the film is still intact), that would satisfy me greatly.



#4: Captain EO 3D (or 4D, once again, depending on your preferences)


Captain EO is another 15 minute long 4D ride that was formerly at Disneyland. Unlike Honey, I Shrunk the Audience, this one can actually be easily viewed on YouTube in its entirety. There's even a video that attempts to capture the 3D aspect in red/cyan 3D. I haven't tried that video out yet. But even then, this is still another piece of 3D media we have no official release of. Once again, this is meant to be a 4D ride, so there'll be a lot of things missing if this film was to come home on 3D DVD or 3D Blu-ray. But at least we wouldn't be missing the 3D aspect of the film.



#3: NASCAR 3D: The IMAX Experience


NASCAR was initially released in IMAX 3D for viewers to feel as if they're right there at the NASCAR race with the drivers. You might not get quite the same experience at home for the sound system and screen will obviously be smaller than the ones at the IMAX theater. But if the film was released on a 3D Blu-ray, we'd still be watching the film the way it was intended to be seen, if not experienced. Sadly, IMAX still didn't release this one in 3D on home media. So, once again, another fantastic 3D experience is left only to your imagination. It's a real shame, because who wouldn't want to be immersed in the NASCAR races?



#2: IMAX: A Beautiful Planet 3D


A Beautiful Planet is a documentary by IMAX documenting life on the ISS and the incredible images of earth shown from the ISS in 3D (never mind they did essentially the same thing 14 years earlier with IMAX: Space Station). And in 2018, A Beautiful Planet became one of the first titles released by IMAX on 4K Blu-ray as a demo disc for it's new IMAX-enhanced home theater technology. With that, though, one wonders why they didn't also release the film on an IMAX-enhanced 3D Blu-ray. Or at the least, release it on a 3D Blu-ray at all. Just like NASCAR, the film was created to be seen in IMAX 3D, but they decided not to release it in 3D on home media for no apparent reason. And unlike NASCAR, A Beautiful Planet is much more fit for the third dimension taking place in space and all just like Hubble 3D and Space Station 3D. The good news is this movie still plays at science museums with IMAX theaters if you want to see it in 3D. But sadly, I don't see the 3D Blu-ray coming out anytime soon.



#1: IMAX: Cyberworld 3D


Alright, this seems like a weird choice to place as #1. But just hear me out. The main reason I want to see this film get a 3D Blu-ray release so much isn't entirely because I hear the 3D itself is amazing, although it did manage to please Roger Ebert (if you think the 3D Blu-ray Bunker is strict, Ebert straight up called the 3D in How to Train Your Dragon "distracting and unnecessary"), but because the film itself is extremely rare. With all the other movies on this list, you can usually find a way to watch them in 2D (even Honey, I Shrunk the Kids if you know where to look). But Cyberworld has never found a home video release in any format. In fact, there's even a page for it on the Lost Media Wiki simply because of how impossible it is to view. I'd give quite a bit just to see the film at all. But I'd still give even more to see it in 3D the way it was intended. Sure, it's less of a movie and more of an anthology of random clips and videos converted to 3D, but it still would be a very cool sight to see. I don't know why it hasn't seen home media yet. But if Quantum Quest eventually found itself public accessible, maybe Cyberworld can someday to. But I'd certainly love it if they would keep the 3D intact.


Anyway, those are my top 10 pick for 3D films I want to see make their way to home media. Do you think I missed anything? Please let me know in the comments. I'd love to hear your thoughts. Let me know what other 3D lists you'd like to see me make.

If you have any questions about this blog or any 3D review requests, be sure to leave them on my YouTube channel titled "The 3D Dinosaur." Thank you for visiting and have a great day.

© 2023 by On My Screen. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page