top of page
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Another 15 Movies that Deserve a 3D Conversion


Well, what do you know? It's been around 8 months since my last list of films that deserve to converted to 3D. In total now, I have about 30 films to nominate to studios if they ever decide to take one of their films and give it a solid 3D re-release. Like I said in my previous lists, 3D legacy conversions are nowadays very sparse. Yes, we've gotten some 3D re-releases of films like Jurassic Park, Titanic, and even Avatar over the past little while, but those are films that had their 3D version concocted almost, or at least, a decade ago. The only recent 3D conversion of an old film I can remember coming to the big screen in the past 5 years was probably Jaws from last year (which looked better than it had any right to). The reason for that being is that 3D is nowadays seen as a bit of a gimmick to get into people's wallets. It's still around, don't get me wrong. But it's presence is seen more as the status quo for big blockbuster movies instead of an experience that ought to be treasured. I can see where many people come from on that front. But the downside is that it often turns people off to what 3D can add to a film when it's done right. And quite honestly, we've gotten to the point now where finding a bad 3D movie in theater in the present is much more difficult than finding a good 3D movie around 10 years ago. Unfortunately, not only aren't people all that interested in 3D unless a new Avatar movie is coming out, but it's because of that no one is really clamoring to see any more films from the olden days get released in 3D. And it's a real shame too because looking back on some ancient gems are really some great opportunities for the third dimension to shine again on the big screen. Heck, there are even some movies getting a release nowadays that I'd love to see in 3D. But we'll get to those soon enough. Anyways, you'd like that after 2 top 15 lists of films that deserve a 3D conversion, I should be done. So did I, but like before, I proved myself wrong. So here we are again with yet another 15 movies that I believe deserve a chance to be seen in 3D.


THE GOONIES

Shortly after the release of Jaws (1975) in 3D last year, I began to rethink how I determine whether or not movies are worthy of a 3D conversion. Not that I mean films like Die Hard and Lord of the Rings don't certainly deserve 3D treatment, but it made me think to myself: "Are there any films that I've overlooked that might have some genuinely intriguing 3D composition despite their semi-modest settings?" I've come up short in that area many times, that was until I saw The Goonies the other day. The cave systems, the dripping water, the coastal views, and the climax with the big ship all seem to come together in a way easily fit for 3D. Sure, the adventure does take a little while to get going, and we don't get very many grand sets aside from the one at the end. That's why it's pretty low on the list. But I bet that giving this film a 3D re-release would not only garner plenty of attention from children and nostalgic Goonies fans alike, but also add an extra dimension of suspense and immersion to this thoroughly enjoyable adventure.


Ghostbusters (1984)

Ghostbusters is another classic from the 80's that comes to mind when thinking of a film to give a 3D conversion to. This one has the slight advantage over The Goonies due to its supernatural nature with plenty of ghosts flying around, gadgets and gizmos, a climax on top of the Empire State Building, and even a few pretty good jump scares. While Ghostbusters does have a somewhat grounded nature in keeping with its comedy, its spectacle is nothing to be ignored. And I think more often than not, it would lend it's way to some fun moments to entertain 3D enthusiasts if anyone ever considers giving it the 3D treatment.


INCEPTION

Like I mentioned before in one of my previous lists when I talked about Interstellar in 3D, Nolan isn't a fan of 3D and purposefully avoids using it. Nolan does as Nolan does. But that doesn't mean his films don't have some good 3D potential. Take for example, Inception. Sure, it's adventure isn't quite as big and spectacular as Interstellar. But it still introduces us to some pretty grand set pieces, offers some intense action sequences, and even has some neat shots of water splashing. Couple the 3D with its mind-bending story about the separation of dreams from reality and you'd have yourself a truly immersive experience. Yes, Nolan's masterpiece has already proven to be immersive enough even in 2D (especially if can catch it in IMAX). But with that being the case, one can only imagine just how much a solid 3D conversion would add to that.


THE IRON GIANT

A story about a boy befriending a creature from another world? Probably sounds like something you've heard before. But seldom has a film given this premise a better story than with the underrated classic The Iron Giant. When an enormous mysterious robot falls from the sky and the government does everything it can to track it down, a young kid named Hogarth Hughes ends up coming across it and soon realizes that it really means no harm. It's simply trying to find its way in the world. This leads Hogarth to bring him home and hide him from the authorities and also try to teach the creature right from wrong. It's a simply but highly charming and very well animated film from the 90's that I'd say is about on par with some of the films that came out during the Disney Renaissance. While it didn't get a ton of attention in the theaters, people have come to realize it now as an absolute gem of a film. So what would 3D add to it? Well, The Iron Giant, along with being about heart, is also often about scale. It's one thing to see a robot going about a forest. But when he's 50 feet tall, that's really something to behold. In 3D, I'd reckon you could feel like you're looking right up at The Iron Giant, looking down at the ground from his hand, or ducking for cover when he defends himself from the impeding military. As much as I wish I could see The Iron Giant get re-released one day on the big screen so I could watch it the way it was intended, I can't help but also think a good 3D conversion would add quite a lot more to this visually amazing film than most people would first expect. But either way, if you haven't seen The Iron Giant, waste no time and check it out. It's that good a film.


DAWN OF THE DEAD (2004)

Has anyone other than me heard about the 3D re-release last year of the 1978 George A. Romero film Dawn of the Dead? No? Well, it happened. While I sadly did not get to see the film (it was a Regal exclusive theatrical feature, and the nearest Regal Theater playing the film in my area was at least 1 and a half hours out), I heard good things about it and its 3D conversion. It was shortly after that I heard that the film actually got a 2004 remake by Zack Snyder that many people seem to think is still a pretty solid movie, if not up there with the first. I haven't seen the original movie nor have I seen the remake. So you might be asking why I bothered to nominate the latter for a 3D conversion. Well, although I haven't quite watched the film itself, I have seen the trailer as well as various clips online. And it honestly doesn't look like it'd make for a half bad 3D experience. Zack Snyder is known for his dark but visually unique style, which it certainly appears his 2004 remake of Dawn of the Dead is full of. And from what I have seen of the film, that style allows for plenty of moments of 3D-worthy zombie sequences. The scene where Ana realizes her daughter is a zombie and it attacks her husband right before charging after her looks like a scene that'd terrify in 3D glory. I guess I'll get around to watching both movies at some point and if the film isn't as ripe with good 3D composition as I thought, maybe I'll bump this one down the list. As is though, it looks like the making for one heck of a 3D ride.


SPIRIT: STALLION OF THE CIMARRON

Well, would you look at that. Another 2D animated feature made it onto the list (trust me, it won't be the last time). Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron isn't so much a film I'd call underrated as I'd say it's severely under-appreciated. There's clearly an audience for it otherwise the Netflix series Spirit: Riding Free and even the sequel Spirit: Untamed wouldn't have gotten green-lit. But clearly, all the studio sees when making these projects is that 5-year-old girls like anything to do with horses and will watch anything that caters to their needs. But by dumbing the franchise down to their level, they seem to have forgotten what Spirit, the original film, really used to be. It was a very well-crafted, beautifully animated, emotionally captivating film that relied on it's subtle storytelling, likable characters, and minimal dialogue (I use the word "minimal" due to Matt Damon's narration which, yeah, is a bit unnecessary. But it doesn't ruin the movie). There's a lot this fantastic movie brings to the table of animated film. But sadly, I think just like Frozen (but to a MUCH lesser extent), this movie's brand recognition and it's appeal to young girls will be the thing that sticks in everyone's mind. Wait, where was I going with this? Oh, yeah. The 3D. Spirit is known for having some truly stellar animation with a delicate but well-handled mix between 2D and 3D shapes, gorgeous and vast landscapes, and even a few exhilarating action sequences. The setting in the wild west gives us long-off views of prairies, canyons, deserts, and more. There's also some thrilling shots of horses running in packs, tracking shots of an eagle flying through the sky, scenes where Spirit is running from danger, and even a moment where he leaps a wide, and extremely deep, canyon in a single bound. That's exactly the reason I think a 3D conversion of Spirit is well-deserved. Just like Prince of Egypt, the animation offers the story a grand scope that good 3D treatment would more than take advantage of and provide us a stunning picture as a result. And just like Prince of Egypt, I'd love to see this one get re-released not just in 3D, but IMAX 3D. That way, not only are you getting the most out of the visual aspect of the film, but the musical one as well (trust me, Spirit has a banger soundtrack).


IRON MAN

Surprisingly, in doing my past lists, I haven't brought any attention to Iron Man. I guess it was because I figured even if Iron Man was given a good 3D conversion, it'd pale in comparison to films like Guardians of the Galaxy. Or maybe it was because I thought there's already been enough 3D superhero movies and a 3D conversion of Iron Man would only do service to a few small fans. Either way, I've put it off for quite a while. And honestly, I probably shouldn't have. Yeah, Iron Man as a story is a lot more down-to-earth than later entries in the MCU. But doesn't mean there's nothing the film would offer if a 3D conversion was brought to the table. The flight scenes and action sequences would certainly be the highlights, as with most all 3D superhero movies. And I bet the 3D would still help add to the overall scope of the movie whether your in the desert, the city, or in Tony's lair. Maybe it's the fact all superhero movies are 3D nowadays. But I'd still like to be able to see Iron Man flying around in 3D glory.


AD ASTRA

Well, it seems like Ad Astra was a movie that disappeared just as quickly as it came in. It's a real shame, too, because there's honestly much to appreciate about it. I can understand many of the criticisms people have against it regarding its story, various plot holes, and nonsensical side missions. But in spite of that, I still ended up highly enjoying the movie. Its visuals are stunning, its perilous sequences are engaging, and the score is absolutely beautiful. I had the pleasure of seeing this film in IMAX when it came out which may have helped me be more forgiving its flaws. But I can't say the experience wasn't very enthralling. You know what could've made it more enthralling though? You guessed it. In between this, Apollo 13, Wall-E, and Interstellar, you can probably tell how well I think space movies are suited to 3D, and Ad Astra is no different. It's engaging images of space would certainly carry an extra-dimension of weight to them when viewed in 3D, really helping to sell you just how big the universe is. And there's even an intense moment of a man falling to earth from the enormous tower from the picture above. It was already thrilling enough in IMAX. But in IMAX 3D, who knows how much more intense it would've been.


HORTON HEARS A WHO

Now just "hear" me out on this one. I'm not one to suggest that every kids movie to have a 3D version created of it (even though many of the animated films I've reviewed on this blog have offered some of the best 3D I've seen). But as I was just sitting down watching Horton Hears a Who, I was thinking about how well the two animated Dr. Seuss movie by Illumination, The Lorax and The Grinch, worked in 3D due to their shot compositions and settings. It was then I realized that honestly, Horton Hears a Who has those same aspects too. The Jungle of Nool and the Town of Whoville are chock full of surreal Seussical designs and large structures. But not only that, throughout the movie, we get everything coming at us from elephant trunks to clovers to a menacing kangaroo to the citizens to Who-ville to... Look, to cover all the shots that would give us great 3D fun would be beyond the scope of this article. Just watch the film for yourself, imagine it in 3D, and then realize in disappointment we aren't in the universe where Horton stumbles into your living room through the magic of 3D.


KING KONG (2005)

I honestly could've put the 1933 original King Kong on this list too. Not because I believe it would've looked great, but because I would love to see what a 3D conversion could do for the visual effects in that old gem. But even more so, I want to see the 2005 remake get itself a 3D version. Not only is it the better looking of the two movies, but the cinematography taken under the direction of Peter Jackson makes the experience engaging throughout with composition that no doubt seems ripe for 3D treatment. New York City cityscapes, the jungles of Skull Island, the big-scale action, what more could you want in a 3D feature? We've seen how well 3D has worked with the Kong movies as of late with Kong: Skull Island and Godzilla vs. Kong. Maybe it's time we see how the third dimension would impact this big, grand remake of one of cinema's most legendary monsters.


THE MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE MOVIES

Isn't it a little weird how we've gotten seven Mission: Impossible movies by now and yet only one of them is actually in 3D? Sadly, I didn't catch Fallout in 3D at the theater, but I've heard good things about it. Looking back on it though, the previous, and even latest, installments of this long-running franchise have plenty of great 3D potential. Remember that iconic repelling in the database room scene from the first movie, Ethan Hunt throwing his glasses at the camera in the second one, Ethan hanging from the Burj Khalifa in Ghost Protocol, him diving into a database pool in Rogue Nation? Or how about that base jump from the latest film "Dead Reckoning: Part One"? (yeah, I know it was overshadowed by Barbenheimer, but still) It seems like Mission: Impossible was 3D prime from the start. I'd love to see someone go back and convert at least one of these films and let us see them in a brand new light. I'd take any of them, but I'd personally vouch for Ghost Protocol just for that Burj Khalifa scene alone.


ALADDIN

I don't know how I didn't even consider Aladdin for good 3D conversion until Real Future Pictures said he'd vouch for it in his 3D review of The Little Mermaid (the good one from 1989). In it, he stated if he had to choose any 2D animated Disney film from their catalogue to give a 3D conversion to, he'd choose Treasure Planet (a good consideration, but I've got my own pick I'll tell you later). But Aladdin would be his pick if he were only confined to the films from the Disney Renaissance. And it's not hard to see why. Aladdin is chock full of visual energy with everything from chases to magic to large scale dance numbers, beautifully animated tracking shots, and over course, any part with the Genie in it. All of it would lend itself excellently to 3D. And there are even a few parts I can envision us getting some great pop outs (such as the ones above). I believe I heard a 3D conversion of this film was in production at some stage before it was cancelled after Beauty and the Beast 3D underperformed and The Little Mermaid 3D changed it's nationwide release to a limited release at a theater in California (a real shame as they were a couple of truly superb 3D presentations). So yeah, the fact that there's been little talk about Aladdin in 3D after those 3D re-release by Disney leads me to think that we unfortunately won't be seeing a 3D conversion of this film anytime soon. If anyone does though, I'll be all for it. (personally, if I had to choose one movie from the Disney Renaissance, it'd still be Hunchback. It wouldn't be anywhere near as fun as Aladdin, but it could give the chance to show people how effective 3D can be on a slightly more sophisticated film. Plus, it'd give people a chance to talk about Disney's Hunchback and what an underrated masterpiece it is. But then again, that's probably just me)


2001: A Space Odyssey

Stanley Kubrick would probably be out to get me if he knew I'd be putting his film on this list. But then again, with all due respect for him, he doesn't really have a say in the matter. There's no other way to say it, 2001: A Space Odyssey is an absolute work of art. It utilizes the medium of film in a way I've seldom, if at all, seen anyone else accomplish. It brings together sight and sound to convey emotions and themes that you can't find in a standard narrative story, nor a painting nor a poem now anything else. This is a movie made exclusively to be a movie and its touches on the themes of man, their rise, their creation, and their transcendence will no doubt remain timeless and therefore, keep this movie timeless. Now about the 3D, just like Ad Astra and Inception, it already accomplishes its goal of immersing the audience in its world and taking you through the journey of its main characters in 2D. But like before, there's so much composition here that's ripe for 3D that to deny it such treatment would be a bit of a shame. Can you imagine many of the exterior spaceship shots or the field of apes or the acid trip near the end in 3D? 2001 but with Kubrick's masterful visuals carrying an extra dimension of weight to them would truly create an experience like no other.


FANTASIA

At last, we get to the one 2D animated Disney movie I'd choose to get converted to 3D if I ever got the chance. Fantasia is it. This feature from Walt Disney in 1940 was a bold movie on Disney's part for a number of reasons. And while it didn't exactly make bank at the box office, it still cemented a legacy of being one of Disney's greatest films of all time. Fantasia essentially plays as one big concert, not just of classical music, but also of animation. To this day, both elements continue to inspire audiences everywhere with their sheer beauty and passion. And that's exactly why I would absolutely love to see 3D conversion on this one. This isn't like the other narratively driven movies from Walt Disney. It exists to display how visually and emotionally engaging the medium of animation, as well as music, can be. And to add an extra dimension onto that would be to also add an extra dimension onto the ways this movie can captivate the audience with its artistry and gorgeousness. To simply describe how I think 3D could make this film a grand, unforgettable experience would be fruitless. The film is full of 3D-ready composition, sweeping camera shots, and incredible settings that the third dimension just seems like the natural progression for this film. Can you imagine how much livelier the Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy segment would be, and how much more impactful the Night on Bald Mountain segment would be, or how much more inspiring the last five minutes of film would be (I won't spoil it for you if you haven't already seen it)? Not only do I nominate this film for a 3D conversion, I want to see it re-released in IMAX 3D. I know I've already said that before maybe half a dozen times by now. But considering how the sequel Fantasia 2000 was released in the IMAX format (and did very well financially in those screenings), I believe the original film should get no lesser treatment. I'd pay good money to see it even in IMAX 2D. But in IMAX 3D, this film would be a transcendent experience for all in the audience.


SPIDER-MAN: ACROSS THE SPIDER-VERSE

Perhaps the biggest 3D missed opportunity of the summer has to be Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse. I'd say this is super surprising if I didn't know why this was. Apparently, the work behind the scenes was completely disastrous and from some sources, the film "barely crossed the finish line." Even after the film was released, animators were still making final touches to make the film the best it could be. Crazy story and all, but yeah. With all that, it's understandable why we didn't quite get a 3D release with this one. Still, considering how mind-blowing the first movie looked in 3D, and how Across the Spider-Verse ramps up all the multiverse madness to 11, it's a real shame that's the case. Not only do we get the comic book aesthetic which fed well into the 3D last time, but we're also visiting more universes, meeting newer people, getting into crazier action, and keeping up with an onslaught of little details that solidify this film as a true passion project. I don't think I need to tell you how well 3D can work with this film if given the chance. If you've seen the film, you'll know how sorely missed the third dimension is. If not, go watch it anyway. You'll still have yourself a fun time. But Sony, if you're reading this, please see if a 3D arrangement can be made for this film. It desperately deserves it.


And that is my third list for movies that ought to get a 3D conversion. Maybe someday I'll combine all three of the lists into one mega-list. But it is not this day. Did you agree with my picks? Are there any I left out? Be sure to let me know in the comments. Thanks for reading and have a nice day.

If you have any questions about this blog or any 3D review requests, be sure to leave them on my YouTube channel titled "The 3D Dinosaur." Thank you for visiting and have a great day.

© 2023 by On My Screen. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page